Firmware upgrade on the Leica D-Lux 4

I upgraded the firmware on the D-Lux 4 – so far I am happy with the improvements and the changes.  The new profile “high dynamic” gives interesting results and will need to test it out further.

No new update on the Leica X1 – still on the fence about getting it.  The D-Lux 4 firmware also improved autofocus so I am sure that Leica can address that on the X1

I do like the grip that I purchased last week for the D-Lux 4 – very nice

3 Responses to “Firmware upgrade on the Leica D-Lux 4”

  1. Bruce Granofsky Says:

    The D-Lux 4 has already been my favorite camera and is used almost all of the time, so thanks for the upgrade news.
    I’m also watching the Leica x1 news closely and hoping it turns out to be a great camera. But I’m still concerned about the size and if it will fit in a loose pocket.

    • softwaredeveloper99 Says:

      Thanks Bruce,

      I love the D-Lux 4 and since I purchased it in April i have not used my 40d. Sold many of the 40D lens with the plan to get the X1. However what I have seen with the X1 its not for me yet. Most of the photos taken on the X1 were blurry as the focus speed seems to be an issue.

      Thanks for the comment – one more thing is that I wished Apple supported D-Lux 4 RAW. Also how did u find my blog?

      Rob

  2. Bruce Granofsky Says:

    Hi Rob,
    I found your blog by checking everything I could find on the Lx1.
    I recently got rid of my Nikon 5000 as I found the Live View way too slow and most of the shots too soft. (compared to the D-Lux)
    Bought myself the Panasonic GH1 as my main shoot and video camera. (got tired of lugging around so many cameras and lenses on extended trips through Asia.

    The LX1 still looks promising and I’ll give you news on it when I receive it and use it in India.
    (yes, the D -Lux won’t be left behind)

    Cheers,
    Bruce

Leave a Reply

